If you prefer to watch a video, please click on this link - Video - What are User Permissions / How to Setup User Permissions


User Permissions allows the Dealership to allocate access or restrict access to certain sections of Blackpurl for particular groups of Users.


For example:

In the Dealership, the Unit Sales staff do not need access to Account Settings but they need access to Customer Order Units.  Our process would be:

  • Create new Group for User Permission Group - Unit Sales in Blackpurl
  • Assign the relevant permissions to suit what this group would and would not have permission to access
  • Assign the relevant Users to this group


HOW TO SETUP USER PERMISSIONS

  1. From the Blackpurl Header > click on User-added image > System settings
User-added image
  1. From the System Settings Dashboard > click on User-added image

  

User-added image


  1. The User Permission screen will load - let's do a quick navigation:

User-added image


1.    Search feature - if there are a lot of User Permission Groups listing, use this search feature to look for the
       User Permission Group you want


Just start typing the User Permission Group name in the search field and the search result will load for you
to make the selection

2.    A list of the current User Permission Groups currently in Blackpurl

3.   To create a new User Permission Group - click on User-added image


TIP: If permission changes are required for a particular User Permission Group, click on the relevant User Permission Group icon and it will take you to the permission settings for amendments


  1. For this example, we are going to create a new User Permission Group - Unit Sales, work through the list of permissions and then decide which users need to be assigned to this group.  
Click on User-added image for the Create a New Group Window to pop up.

Type in the New Group's Name and Assign a color than click on User-added image


User-added image


  1. Take your time and work through the list of permissions, deciding what this User Permission Group should have permission to access

This is a link to an article that will tell you what the Permission actually mean - Current User Permissions


If you want them to have that permission, change the toggle from  User-added image to User-added image.In some instances, if the permission is enabled, new options may appear for you to make further decisions ie if the User Permission Group can have the access to Create / Modify as well.

User-added image
Once the permissions are set, click on User-added image


  1. Now it is time to allocate users to this User Permission Group > click on Members Tab


User-added image


Click on User-added image and the Assign Users to Unit Sales window will pop up.

Click into the Search Users field and the list of current users will come up.

Search through and click to select on the users that need to be assigned to this group.

User-added image


Then click on User-added image


  1. Blackpurl will update the Members Group with the User names just assigned to this User Group.
Remember to click > User-added image


User-added image
To add further users to this User Permission Group > click on User-added image


Please note that Users can only be assigned to one User Permission Group.

For further information on User Permissions for Unit Cost and Part Cost, please review our article - User Permission - Unit Cost and Part Cost